Skip to content
Accelerator Atlas

Defense & Space accelerators

Accelerators for Defense & Space founders

Defense and space is the vertical where the word "accelerator" means the least, and reading the actual deal matters the most. Only one program here, Techstars Space in Los Angeles, is a classic equity accelerator: $220,000 on standard Techstars terms for a minimum 5 percent position. Almost everything else is government money or government access, and the government never takes equity. The SBIR and STTR pipelines run by AFWERX and SpaceWERX are non-dilutive federal contracts: recent published ranges run from roughly $75,000 to $180,000 for a Phase I feasibility study up to $1.25 million to $1.8 million for Phase II work, with STRATFI scale-up funding reaching $15 million. Army xTech runs prize competitions, with its current Apex Intercept series offering a pool of up to $8 million.

The mechanics are the barrier, so we spell them out. SBIR proposals go through the DSIP portal at dodsbirsttr.mil against dated solicitation windows that open and close on a schedule, and missing a window means waiting for the next release. Other programs here, like Catalyst Accelerator, SOFWERX, and Hyperspace Challenge, are customer-discovery platforms: they connect you with Space Force, SOCOM, or Air Force stakeholders who can become contract customers, but some of them state plainly that participation carries no funding at all. Each record says which kind of program you are looking at, what it pays or does not pay, and what it expects from you, using only what the program itself publishes.

Eligibility is stricter here than anywhere else in the directory. SBIR awards require majority US-owned small businesses, and several fellowship and accelerator programs require US citizenship or permanent residency. Check the record before you plan an application, and use the calendar for the solicitation windows we can support with sources; in this vertical the dates move fast and we mark what is confirmed versus expected.

Showing 11 of 11 programs

Check sizeEquityTermsFormatNext windowSignal
AFWERX SBIR/STTR Open Topicdual-use defense technology (Air Force)Phase I: up to $75,000 (SBIR) / $110,000 (STTR); Phase II: up to $2,000,000; Direct-to-Phase-II: up to $1,250,000Not publishedNot an equity accelerator: a non-dilutive SBIR/STTR contract funding pipeline ('front door to the Department of the Air Force'). Phase I is a 3-month feasibility contract; Phase II requires a signed Customer Memorandum from an Air Force end user. Equity_pct null because government contracts take no equity. City/state null: AFWERX operates hubs in multiple locations and proposals are submitted online via DSIP.Non-dilutiveNot publishedRemoteSep 23, 2026Aug 26, 2026
Verified
Army xTech Prize CompetitionsArmy technology (prize competitions)Not publishedNon-dilutive prize competition series: Phase 1 white paper, Phase 2 pitch or demonstration events, with cash prizes plus potential follow-on Army contracts (incl. SBIR pathways), mentorship and networking. Prize pools vary per competition. xTech Apex Intercept (low-cost interceptors) offers up to $8,000,000 total: up to 30 Phase 1 finalists at $25,000 each and up to 18 Phase 2 winners sharing $7.25M across four topic areas (per the Apex Intercept competition page, July 2026). Eligibility spans small, medium and large businesses from the US and allied countries.Not publishedNon-dilutive prize competition series: Phase 1 white paper, Phase 2 pitch or demonstration events, with cash prizes plus potential follow-on Army contracts (incl. SBIR pathways), mentorship and networking. Prize pools vary per competition. xTech Apex Intercept (low-cost interceptors) offers up to $8,000,000 total: up to 30 Phase 1 finalists at $25,000 each and up to 18 Phase 2 winners sharing $7.25M across four topic areas (per the Apex Intercept competition page, July 2026). Eligibility spans small, medium and large businesses from the US and allied countries.Non-dilutiveNot publishedRemoteNone confirmedJul 22, 2026
Verified
Capital Factory (Defense)dual-use defense tech (Texas)Not publishedTexas startup hub and venture firm with defense as one of its four stated technology frontiers (Space, Energy, Bio, Defense); defense portfolio includes Saronic Technologies, X-Bow Systems, Red 6, Allen Control Systems, and Apptronik. Startups engage via the Texas Fund (first-check cash investments, 'pitch us, no warm intro needed') and the All Access membership, not a fixed-terms cohort, so amounts and equity are null (not published). The 'Center for Defense Innovation' branding is historical and does not appear on the current homepage or Government and Defense page; the defense practice itself is primary-verified via capitalfactory.com/government.Not publishedTexas startup hub and venture firm with defense as one of its four stated technology frontiers (Space, Energy, Bio, Defense); defense portfolio includes Saronic Technologies, X-Bow Systems, Red 6, Allen Control Systems, and Apptronik. Startups engage via the Texas Fund (first-check cash investments, 'pitch us, no warm intro needed') and the All Access membership, not a fixed-terms cohort, so amounts and equity are null (not published). The 'Center for Defense Innovation' branding is historical and does not appear on the current homepage or Government and Defense page; the defense practice itself is primary-verified via capitalfactory.com/government.MixedTXHybridNone confirmedJul 22, 2026
Verified
Catalyst Accelerator (Catalyst Space Accelerator)space and national-security tech for U.S. Space ForceNot publishedDefense customer-discovery accelerator connecting startups with DoD/Space Force stakeholders (Space Delta 7 AI/ML 'CAAMO' cohort and BMC3I TAP Lab Cohort 4 running Spring 2026); 6-week Stage 1 cohort experience. The site does not publish stipend/investment figures or equity terms, so those are null; historically cohorts have been non-dilutive with no equity taken. No next application deadline was posted as of 2026-07-21.Not publishedDefense customer-discovery accelerator connecting startups with DoD/Space Force stakeholders (Space Delta 7 AI/ML 'CAAMO' cohort and BMC3I TAP Lab Cohort 4 running Spring 2026); 6-week Stage 1 cohort experience. The site does not publish stipend/investment figures or equity terms, so those are null; historically cohorts have been non-dilutive with no equity taken. No next application deadline was posted as of 2026-07-21.Non-dilutiveCOHybridNone confirmedJul 22, 2026
Verified
FedTech (Startup Studios & Accelerators)deep tech from federal labs / defenseNot publishedRuns startup studios (pairing entrepreneurs with federal-lab technologies), accelerators for scaling startups, internal-innovation cohorts, and SBIR/STTR/TABA consulting. Its website does not publish equity/fee/stipend terms, program locations or 2026 deadlines, so those fields are null and terms_model is 'mixed' (varies by sponsor and program; many cohorts are government/corporate-sponsored). City/state null because HQ location is not stated on the fetched pages (operates DC-area/national programs).Not publishedRuns startup studios (pairing entrepreneurs with federal-lab technologies), accelerators for scaling startups, internal-innovation cohorts, and SBIR/STTR/TABA consulting. Its website does not publish equity/fee/stipend terms, program locations or 2026 deadlines, so those fields are null and terms_model is 'mixed' (varies by sponsor and program; many cohorts are government/corporate-sponsored). City/state null because HQ location is not stated on the fetched pages (operates DC-area/national programs).MixedNot publishedHybridSep 13, 2026Jul 22, 2026
Verified
Hyperspace Challengespace technology for USSF/AFRLNot publishedGovernment-customer discovery accelerator, not an investment program: 2025 Fall Challenge page states 'There is NO promise of funding of any sort as a result of participating.' Selected companies receive 6-10 hours of 1:1 consulting plus access to government customers; earlier editions (e.g., 2021) offered up to $100k in cash prizes. Investment/equity null accordingly. 2025 cycle: applications closed 2025-09-16, Accelerator Week 2025-11-05/06. No 2026 cycle announced yet as of 2026-07-21, so next_deadline null.Not publishedGovernment-customer discovery accelerator, not an investment program: 2025 Fall Challenge page states 'There is NO promise of funding of any sort as a result of participating.' Selected companies receive 6-10 hours of 1:1 consulting plus access to government customers; earlier editions (e.g., 2021) offered up to $100k in cash prizes. Investment/equity null accordingly. 2025 cycle: applications closed 2025-09-16, Accelerator Week 2025-11-05/06. No 2026 cycle announced yet as of 2026-07-21, so next_deadline null.Non-dilutiveNMHybridNone confirmedJul 22, 2026
Verified
NSIN (National Security Innovation Network)national security venture/talent programsNot publishedDoD program office (formerly MD5) under DIU running collaboration and acceleration programs (Hacking for Defense, boot camps, venture programs) with non-dilutive support. No investment amounts published. Current programming could not be verified: nsin.mil homepage carried no program or deadline content when fetched, and no cohort announcements post-DIU restructuring (2024) were found, so status is marked possibly_inactive pending confirmation.Not publishedDoD program office (formerly MD5) under DIU running collaboration and acceleration programs (Hacking for Defense, boot camps, venture programs) with non-dilutive support. No investment amounts published. Current programming could not be verified: nsin.mil homepage carried no program or deadline content when fetched, and no cohort announcements post-DIU restructuring (2024) were found, so status is marked possibly_inactive pending confirmation.Non-dilutiveVAHybridNone confirmedJul 22, 2026
Secondary sourcePossibly dormantWe could not confirm a recent or upcoming cohort. It may have paused or wound down. Verify before applying.
SOFWERXspecial operations technologyNot publishedNot a cohort accelerator: an innovation platform connecting companies to USSOCOM via Tech Tuesday pitch slots, assessment/technical experimentation events, tech sprints, RFIs, and SBIR opportunities that can lead to government contracts. No equity taken and no fixed award amount, hence nulls. Site listed multiple SBIR/event deadlines July-September 2026 but no single program deadline date was extractable, so next_deadline is null.Not publishedNot a cohort accelerator: an innovation platform connecting companies to USSOCOM via Tech Tuesday pitch slots, assessment/technical experimentation events, tech sprints, RFIs, and SBIR opportunities that can lead to government contracts. No equity taken and no fixed award amount, hence nulls. Site listed multiple SBIR/event deadlines July-September 2026 but no single program deadline date was extractable, so next_deadline is null.Non-dilutiveFLHybridNone confirmedJul 22, 2026
Verified
SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate)space technology for the U.S. Space ForcePhase I: $75K-$180K; Phase II (incl. D2P2): $1.25M-$1.8M; TACFI: $375K-$2M; STRATFI: $3M-$15M (per SpaceWERX Get Funded page, July 2026)Not publishedInnovation arm of the U.S. Space Force; funds companies through non-dilutive SBIR/STTR contracts (Spark, Vector, Accelerate pathways incl. cohorts and STRATFI/TACFI scale-up funding). Award amounts were not stated on the fetched page, so investment_amount is null; equity null because contracts take no equity. Space PY26.2 TACFI accepts submissions on a rolling basis.Non-dilutiveNot publishedRemoteSep 23, 2026Aug 26, 2026
Verified
Starburst Aerospace Acceleratoraerospace and defenseNot publishedRuns 20+ partner accelerator programs worldwide (US programs include ICDA in San Marcos TX, Starburst National Landing Launchpad in Virginia, the NASA Space Health Accelerator, SEISMIC MSI Defense Tech Accelerator, and SCALE in Los Angeles with UCLA) alongside a venture investment arm and consulting business. Terms vary by program and are mostly unpublished, so amounts and equity are null; the SCALE FAQ is the exception, stating the program is completely free with no cash or equity charge (federally funded, 13 weeks, two cohorts per year planned, pre-seed and seed, TRL 3+, Southern California presence required). SCALE's apply page still shows Spring 2023 Cohort 5 as the last cohort with applications closed. No 2026 US application deadlines were published as of 2026-07-22.Not publishedRuns 20+ partner accelerator programs worldwide (US programs include ICDA in San Marcos TX, Starburst National Landing Launchpad in Virginia, the NASA Space Health Accelerator, SEISMIC MSI Defense Tech Accelerator, and SCALE in Los Angeles with UCLA) alongside a venture investment arm and consulting business. Terms vary by program and are mostly unpublished, so amounts and equity are null; the SCALE FAQ is the exception, stating the program is completely free with no cash or equity charge (federally funded, 13 weeks, two cohorts per year planned, pre-seed and seed, TRL 3+, Southern California presence required). SCALE's apply page still shows Spring 2023 Cohort 5 as the last cohort with applications closed. No 2026 US application deadlines were published as of 2026-07-22.MixedCAHybridNone confirmedJul 22, 2026
Verified
Techstars Space Acceleratorspace technology$220,000 total: $20,000 via convertible equity agreement plus $200,000 uncapped MFN SAFE5%Equity for cashCAIn personNone confirmedJul 22, 2026
Verified

Guides for Defense & Space founders

Plain-English mechanics for the terms these programs use.

Keep exploring

Get Defense & Space deadline alerts

One digest a week. Deadline alerts only for verticals you pick. Unsubscribe anytime.