Skip to content
Accelerator Atlas
ActiveVerifiedChecked against the program's own website or official documents.

SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate)

Defense & Space · Run by U.S. Space Force / AFWERX

Verified Aug 26, 2026Official websiteHow to apply

Every field is checked against a primary source where we can. How we verify.

The facts

All fields verified Aug 26, 2026
Terms model
Non-dilutiveGives money that does not take equity: grants, prizes, or credits. Your ownership is untouched.
Investment
Phase I: $75K-$180K; Phase II (incl. D2P2): $1.25M-$1.8M; TACFI: $375K-$2M; STRATFI: $3M-$15M (per SpaceWERX Get Funded page, July 2026)
Equity taken
Not publishedInnovation arm of the U.S. Space Force; funds companies through non-dilutive SBIR/STTR contracts (Spark, Vector, Accelerate pathways incl. cohorts and STRATFI/TACFI scale-up funding). Award amounts were not stated on the fetched page, so investment_amount is null; equity null because contracts take no equity. Space PY26.2 TACFI accepts submissions on a rolling basis.
Program length
Not published
Format
Remote
Location
Not published
Cohorts per year
Not published
Cohort size
Not published
Stage focus
small businesses (dual-use space tech)
Sub-vertical
space technology for the U.S. Space Force
Demographic focus
Not published
Backers
U.S. Space Force, Air Force Research Laboratory
Notable alumni
Not published

Terms notes: Innovation arm of the U.S. Space Force; funds companies through non-dilutive SBIR/STTR contracts (Spark, Vector, Accelerate pathways incl. cohorts and STRATFI/TACFI scale-up funding). Award amounts were not stated on the fetched page, so investment_amount is null; equity null because contracts take no equity. Space PY26.2 TACFI accepts submissions on a rolling basis.

Get Defense & Space deadline alerts

One digest a week. Deadline alerts only for verticals you pick. Unsubscribe anytime.

Terms in plain English

SpaceWERX is the Space Force arm of AFWERX and funds companies through non-dilutive SBIR and STTR contracts: the government pays for R&D, takes no equity, and this is procurement, not investment. Its Get Funded page lists Phase I feasibility awards of $75K to $180K over 3 to 12 months and Phase II prototype awards of $1.25M to $1.8M over up to 24 months, including a Direct-to-Phase-II route for companies that can skip Phase I. Companies with traction can compete for larger scale-up funding, TACFI at $375K to $2M and STRATFI at $3M to $15M, which pair SBIR dollars with matching government or private funds. Proposals are submitted during set solicitation windows through the Defense SBIR/STTR Innovation Portal (DSIP) at dodsbirsttr.mil.

Who this is actually for

US small businesses meeting federal SBIR/STTR eligibility rules, generally majority US-owned with 500 or fewer employees, building dual-use space technology the Space Force could buy. It is a contract pipeline rather than a cohort program, though the Accelerate pathway includes cohort-style programming alongside STRATFI/TACFI scale-up funding.

SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate) application deadlines

  • DAF SBIR/STTR solicitation 26.BZ Release 3: Opens Jun 24, 2026, closes Jul 22, 2026.

    Verified Aug 22, 2026Source
  • DAF SBIR/STTR solicitation Release 4 (listed as 26.BX on Get Funded pages): Opens Jul 22, 2026, closes Aug 18, 2026.

    Verified Aug 26, 2026Source
  • DAF SBIR/STTR solicitation 26.BZ Release 5 (STTR 26.TZ Release 5): Opens Aug 26, 2026, closes Sep 23, 2026.

    Verified Aug 26, 2026Source
  • PY26.2 TACFI (continuous rolling submissions, opened June 2026): Rolling: applications are reviewed on an ongoing basis.

    Verified date not recordedSource

Frequently asked questions

When is the next SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate) application deadline?
The next confirmed application window for SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate) closes Sep 23, 2026.
How much does SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate) invest?
SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate) lists an investment of Phase I: $75K-$180K; Phase II (incl. D2P2): $1.25M-$1.8M; TACFI: $375K-$2M; STRATFI: $3M-$15M (per SpaceWERX Get Funded page, July 2026).
How much equity does SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate) take?
SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate) does not publish the equity it takes, so we record it as not published.
Where is SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate) located and is it in person?
SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate) runs a remote program.
Is SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate) still active?
As of our last check on Aug 26, 2026, SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate) is active.

Compare this program

Put SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate) side by side with up to two others to weigh cash, equity, and timing.

Compare SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate)

Guides that explain these terms

Plain-English mechanics, with worked hypothetical numbers.

More like SpaceWERX (SBIR/STTR, STRATFI/TACFI, Accelerate)

Sources

Everything above was checked against these, verified Aug 26, 2026.