Biotech & Life Sciences accelerators
Accelerators for Biotech & Life Sciences founders
Biotech founders reading accelerator terms need to watch one thing above all: whether the numbers on the page describe the program that exists today. Illumina's famous accelerator terms, 7% equity with up to $200,000 in optional notes, come from a program that ran through 2023 and has since relaunched as Illumina Ventures Labs, which publishes no terms at all, and our page says exactly that. SOSV's IndieBio rebranded to SOSV SF and SOSV NY in early 2026, still writing up to $550,000 pre-seed SAFEs with a wet lab residency, equity percentage unpublished. The clearest deal in the vertical is Nucleate Activator, a free, equity-free company-formation program for academic founders, with US applications open now and closing in October 2026. Every figure here is the program's own published number; where a program does not publish a figure, we say so instead of guessing.
Showing 8 of 8 programs, plus 1 that has ended
| Check size | Equity | Terms | Format | Next window | Signal | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BioTools Innovatorlife-science tools and diagnostics | up to $250,000 in non-dilutive awards (grand prize $250,000) | Not publishedA non-dilutive competition accelerator for life-science tools and diagnostics companies, run by MedTech Innovator over about four months with virtual programming and multi-city events. It awards non-dilutive cash prizes, including a $250,000 grand prize, with no application fee; a separate VANGUARD program provides up to $200,000 each to five startups. Cohort size is not consistently published. The 2026 cohort application closed December 16, 2025, and the program says 2027 applications open in October 2026. | Non-dilutive | CA | Hybrid | None confirmed | Oct 1, 2026 | Verified |
| Endless Frontier Labs (NYU Stern)deep tech / life sciences | Not publishedA 9-month, equity-free accelerator run by NYU Stern for early-stage science and deep-tech startups across deep tech, digital health, digital tech, and life sciences tracks. EFL takes no equity, no fees, and no IP rights. The program runs across five meeting days, three virtual and two in person at NYU Stern. Associated venture funds may separately invest in some participants. Applications typically open in mid-May; the 2026 cycle had a July 31 priority deadline and an August 12 final deadline. | Not publishedA 9-month, equity-free accelerator run by NYU Stern for early-stage science and deep-tech startups across deep tech, digital health, digital tech, and life sciences tracks. EFL takes no equity, no fees, and no IP rights. The program runs across five meeting days, three virtual and two in person at NYU Stern. Associated venture funds may separately invest in some participants. Applications typically open in mid-May; the 2026 cycle had a July 31 priority deadline and an August 12 final deadline. | Equity-free | NY | Hybrid | None confirmed | Oct 1, 2026 | Verified |
| IndieBio (rebranded SOSV SF / SOSV NY, 2026)biotech / deep tech life sciences | up to $550,000 | Not publishedSOSV 'First Check in Deep Tech': up to $550k pre-seed SAFE with up-to-6-month lab/co-working residency. Equity percentage not disclosed on fetched SOSV pages, so null. In early 2026 IndieBio rebranded to SOSV SF and SOSV NY (second US site at 7 Penn Plaza, New York, NY); scope broadened beyond bio to deep tech, but therapeutics/diagnostics remain core. DEADLINE/STATUS NOTE: Applications appear rolling via SOSV site; no dated 2026 deadline published on fetched pages. | Equity for cash | CA | In person | None confirmed | Oct 1, 2026 | Verified |
| IU LAB Lifetech Accelerator (powered by Plug and Play)life sciences: therapeutics, diagnostics, medical devices, biomanufacturing | Not publishedPlug and Play's life sciences accelerator in Indianapolis, run with the Indiana University Launch Accelerator for Biosciences (IU LAB), IU Health and the Central Indiana Corporate Partnership through BioCrossroads, within the IU Health Incubator at IU LAB. The program page says it takes no equity and there is no cost to participate; there is no cash investment. It aims to support up to 40 human health startups a year through 12-week batches with mentorship, curriculum and access to industry leaders such as Eli Lilly. It welcomes academic spinouts and early-stage and seed-stage life science startups. Batch 3's applications ran May 7 to June 10, 2026; its 12 companies were announced August 26, 2026, with an expo in December 2026. The next application window has not been posted. Separate from Plug and Play Health in Silicon Valley. | Not publishedPlug and Play's life sciences accelerator in Indianapolis, run with the Indiana University Launch Accelerator for Biosciences (IU LAB), IU Health and the Central Indiana Corporate Partnership through BioCrossroads, within the IU Health Incubator at IU LAB. The program page says it takes no equity and there is no cost to participate; there is no cash investment. It aims to support up to 40 human health startups a year through 12-week batches with mentorship, curriculum and access to industry leaders such as Eli Lilly. It welcomes academic spinouts and early-stage and seed-stage life science startups. Batch 3's applications ran May 7 to June 10, 2026; its 12 companies were announced August 26, 2026, with an expo in December 2026. The next application window has not been posted. Separate from Plug and Play Health in Silicon Valley. | Equity-free | IN | Not published | None confirmed | Oct 1, 2026 | Verified |
| Johnson & Johnson Innovation - JLABSbiotech / medtech / health | Not publishedAn equity-free, fee-based life-science residency: startups rent lab and office space and keep full ownership and IP, with no equity taken. US campuses are South San Francisco and San Diego, California, and Cambridge, Massachusetts (via LabCentral), plus a virtual East North America membership; the US footprint was reduced in 2026. Applications are accepted on a rolling basis, and separate QuickFire Challenges award non-dilutive grants. | Not publishedAn equity-free, fee-based life-science residency: startups rent lab and office space and keep full ownership and IP, with no equity taken. US campuses are South San Francisco and San Diego, California, and Cambridge, Massachusetts (via LabCentral), plus a virtual East North America membership; the US footprint was reduced in 2026. Applications are accepted on a rolling basis, and separate QuickFire Challenges award non-dilutive grants. | Fee-based | Not published | In person | None confirmed | Oct 1, 2026 | Verified |
| MSK Therapeutics Accelerator (Cohort Program)cancer therapeutics, with a special interest in rare diseases | Not publishedAnnual Cohort Program of Memorial Sloan Kettering's Therapeutics Accelerator, open to startups and to larger biotech and pharmaceutical companies developing cancer therapeutics. Selected companies are matched with an MSK faculty sponsor for one-on-one mentorship, get structured introductions to MSK's translational and clinical facilities, and take part in pitch development, media coaching and in-person pitch showcases, with the aim of defining a co-development workplan and possibly moving into formal Therapeutics Accelerator participation. MSK says it does not provide financial resources through the program; for formal Accelerator partnerships it requests a pre-negotiated commercial stake in the company or co-developed products (equity or royalties), and research budgets are agreed project by project. The 2026 Cohort Program took applications from February 6 to March 30, 2026, kicked off in June 2026 with eight companies, and has its Demo Day in October 2026. | Not publishedAnnual Cohort Program of Memorial Sloan Kettering's Therapeutics Accelerator, open to startups and to larger biotech and pharmaceutical companies developing cancer therapeutics. Selected companies are matched with an MSK faculty sponsor for one-on-one mentorship, get structured introductions to MSK's translational and clinical facilities, and take part in pitch development, media coaching and in-person pitch showcases, with the aim of defining a co-development workplan and possibly moving into formal Therapeutics Accelerator participation. MSK says it does not provide financial resources through the program; for formal Accelerator partnerships it requests a pre-negotiated commercial stake in the company or co-developed products (equity or royalties), and research budgets are agreed project by project. The 2026 Cohort Program took applications from February 6 to March 30, 2026, kicked off in June 2026 with eight companies, and has its Demo Day in October 2026. | Mixed | NY | Not published | None confirmed | Oct 1, 2026 | Verified |
| Nucleate Activatoracademic biotech company formation | Not publishedFree, equity-free ('The program is free and we do not take equity') nonprofit company-formation program for academic founders; provides no cash investment, hence investment_amount null. The program page lists 18 locations: 10 US regions (Bay Area, Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, Michigan, New Haven, New York, San Diego, Seattle, Texas), 7 regions abroad, and a Global Virtual track; city/state null because it is multi-city. Deadline note: the page headline (fetched September 28, 2026) gives October 20 for US chapters, while its FAQ says October 10 and an older 2024 cohort panel says October 21; the year is 2026 per the page's timeline (team formation October 2026, demo day May to June 2027). Program length not stated (roughly an academic year; about 5 to 10 hours per week), so null. | Not publishedFree, equity-free ('The program is free and we do not take equity') nonprofit company-formation program for academic founders; provides no cash investment, hence investment_amount null. The program page lists 18 locations: 10 US regions (Bay Area, Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, Michigan, New Haven, New York, San Diego, Seattle, Texas), 7 regions abroad, and a Global Virtual track; city/state null because it is multi-city. Deadline note: the page headline (fetched September 28, 2026) gives October 20 for US chapters, while its FAQ says October 10 and an older 2024 cohort panel says October 21; the year is 2026 per the page's timeline (team formation October 2026, demo day May to June 2027). Program length not stated (roughly an academic year; about 5 to 10 hours per week), so null. | Equity-free | Not published | Hybrid | Oct 20, 2026 | Oct 1, 2026 | Verified |
| TMC Accelerator for Cancer Therapeutics (ACT)cancer therapeutics | Not publishedNine-month accelerator at Texas Medical Center for Texas-based cancer therapeutics researchers and companies, funded by CPRIT through 2031. The FAQ says it is offered at no cost and does not take equity from participants; there is no cash investment. Support includes a curated mentor network and entrepreneurs-in-residence, grant-writing support, computational chemistry resources, and access to Therapeutic Labs @ TMC and vivarium facilities. Participants must complete a business grant submission (SBIR/STTR or CPRIT) by the end of the program, so they need to incorporate during it. Applications for the next cohort close October 30, 2026; the FAQ says the program commences in January, while the application form's timeline shows it running February to September 2027. This is a separate program from TMCi's HealthTech Accelerator. | Not publishedNine-month accelerator at Texas Medical Center for Texas-based cancer therapeutics researchers and companies, funded by CPRIT through 2031. The FAQ says it is offered at no cost and does not take equity from participants; there is no cash investment. Support includes a curated mentor network and entrepreneurs-in-residence, grant-writing support, computational chemistry resources, and access to Therapeutic Labs @ TMC and vivarium facilities. Participants must complete a business grant submission (SBIR/STTR or CPRIT) by the end of the program, so they need to incorporate during it. Applications for the next cohort close October 30, 2026; the FAQ says the program commences in January, while the application form's timeline shows it running February to September 2027. This is a separate program from TMCi's HealthTech Accelerator. | Equity-free | TX | Not published | Oct 30, 2026 | Oct 1, 2026 | Verified |
Programs that have ended
| Check size | Equity | Terms | Format | Next window | Signal | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Illumina Ventures Labs (formerly Illumina Accelerator)genomics / NGS applications | up to $200,000 (optional convertible note) plus $20,000 credit line | 7% | Equity for cash | CA | In person | None | Sep 29, 2026 | VerifiedProgram endedThe operator has said this program ended, or its program pages are gone and it has shown no activity for two years or more. We keep the record so its history stays visible. |
Keep exploring
Get Biotech & Life Sciences deadline alerts
One digest a week. Deadline alerts only for verticals you pick. Unsubscribe anytime.